Today's post is brought to you by the letter F, as in Futile.
Your attempts to pass your class without making an effort to learn are futile.
Spoiler alert: I found the "compare your scores with other students" button on my online gradebook. My stress level dropped like an anvil when I saw the average scores of those in my classes. Vain? Perhaps. But the undeniable fact is that I can only feel good about my progress if I know that I'm doing better than most. I wonder when that habit started...
It's not like grades matter until high school anyway. I'm trying hard to convince others (and, admittedly, myself) that grades don't matter at all. But getting a straight-A+ report card in middle school was like winning the lottery. I will treasure that faded piece of paper forever and ever.
I would be lying if I denied the fact that giving kids scholarship money based on their GPA isn't a totally reliable system. Some people such as myself (thankfully) are good at testing. We don't need to study very much in order to do well in school. Our writing skills are up to par for our grade level. We tend to "get" the concepts faster than other kids. But we also aren't always the most hard-working, either. A lot of students go crazy and devote their whole lives to school just to get a grade, and they often miss their mark anyway, disappointing themselves.
When I become a teacher, I want to drill in my students' heads that college is nothing more than an expensive last year of high school, repeated for five years or so. My high school teachers felt the need to convince us that college would be very, very difficult, which caused me incredible fits of stress and anxiety. Like I need more of either. But it made my initial transition into higher academia a total bummer. I made my assignments so much harder than the professor intended for them to be. I forgot to chill, to enjoy being independent. And I ended up going home a month in with a panic disorder. What a grand payment for all my hard work in high school.
Grade school doesn't teach students how to be good at college. It teaches you to do whatever is necessary (cheat, lie, cram) for a good grade. Nearsighted much? That unfortunate habit carries over to college, where students far too often skip class until the last week and cram for the final exam. Really and truly, I thought that was just a television myth. The students riding the 9:15 bus with me to their 9:00 class proved me wrong. How I would love to stand next to them on the first day of their career, post-graduation, and watch them slowly realize that they don't know anything. $25,000 in student loans, and they know
nothing. I don't want to be that person. Hence...I am studying as I go.
Dear half-hearted student on the bus...
I will see your late-night party and raise you an A on my Biology midterm.
Welcome to my mind.
Enjoy your stay.